The Genealogical Society of South Africa was founded on 18 June 1964 at the historical Myburgh farm Joostenberg in the Western Cape.


Back, left to right: Prof. André Hugo, Dr. J.A. Heese, Ds. Charles Hopkins, Mrs. Majorie Myburgh (Hostess), Mr. Louis Hiemstra, Mr. P.A. Myburgh (Convener)
Front, left to right: Dr. Anna Böeseken, Mr. Johannes van der Bijl, Mrs. C. Pama, Prof. Con de Villiers, Dr. Cor Pama (Chairman)

The founders was a small group of enthusiasts, interested in making contact with all those fellow South Africans interested in genealogical research. A further aim was to assist in the preservation of genealogical information and at the same meeting a decision was taken to establish FAMILIA, the quarterly journal of the Society, for this purpose.

As the Society grew in membership to other areas of South Africa and indeed to countries outside the borders of South Africa, new branches were formed and the goals and objectives of the Society evolved.


To promote and facilitate interest and research in genealogy and family history.


Honorary Members of the Society

The following individuals are Honorary Members of the Society:

  • Mr. J D Krige
  • Dr. R T J Lombard
  • Mr. H F F Stutterheim
  • Mr. M Tapping
  • Prof. G de V de Kock